F.A.Q.

Answers to some of the frequently asked questions

General Questions

How does display advertising on GhanaWeb.com work?

Directly sold campaigns of online banner advertisements (for formats look at our advertising brochure) agree on a fixed number of banners to display in a fixed period of time.

Campaigns are run via Google’s AdManager to deliver at minimum the number of impressions that have been stated on the Insertion Order (IO). The AdManager ensures delivery, and warns when there is risk of under delivery or any other problem that arises with the campaign.

After the number of impressions as agreed upon in the IO are delivered, as monitored by the AdManager, the client will receive a report by email with the evidence of the delivery.

I hear / read about CPM. What does CPM stand for?

CPM stands for Cost Per Mille or Cost per 1000 impressions.  A CPM rate is used to link a fixed budget to a fixed number of ad impressions.

If an advertiser pays for a campaign of 1 million impressions and the CPM price is 10 GHS, the campaign will cost 10,000 GHS.

What is different in case of takeovers and widgets.

Takeover and widgets are banners that are shown on a fixed position for a fixed time period, regardless of the number of impressions.  Takeovers show mostly on top of the webpage and are sold on a per day basis. Widgets can be located on various positions on the website and are sold for longer periods of time (e.g. for 1 month continuous showing).  The takeovers and widgets are great for visibility, but are, compared to banner advertising, relatively more expensive.

What does the ADPU advertisement campaign report show me?

At the end of a campaign, a report will be generated digitally that will state per day:

  • The number of impressions:  This is the number that banners or buttons are shown to visitors on the site.
  • The number of clicks:   This indicates how often your banner was clicked on, which redirects to the website or landing page  linked to the campaign.
  • The calculated Click Through Rate (CTR).  A CTR of 0.20 %  means that of 1000 banners shown to the visitors,  2 have been clicked on by a visitor (1000 x 0.20% = 2).

Questions about results

I measured less visitors on my webpage than I expected based on the report.

The campaign report lists how many people have clicked on the banner and are successfully redirected to your webpage.  However, there are different reasons why the visitor never was registered on your website. By our experience, the main reason is  the slow or erroneous loading of the destination website – the landing page. If it takes multiple seconds before the website first shows something to the visitor, a lot of visitors will leave before being registered.  Make sure the landing page url is a fast loading page, and dont uses (many) redirects.

I don’t get enough conversions / actions / buys out of the campaign.

We will try to help you to get visitors to land on your website. However we cannot control what the visitors will do on the landing page.The optimisation to convert a visit into actions is out of our hands.

Tip:  if you decide to list a telephone number on the banner,  make sure it is reachable 24/7.  People don’t only browse the internet during office hours.

I don’t see my banner if I browse, but the report shows delivery?

An example:  A Clients wants a campaign with 2 million impressions to be shown in 30 days. This results in on average 67,000 impressions to be shown per day.   If the campaign runs on a website that has 3 million daily pageviews, it means the ad will be shown on 1 out of 44 pageviews. It may feel the campaign is not running while browsing the website, but the AdManager will guarantee that the 67,000 impressions will be delivered.

Furthermore, the following aspects of the AdManager might make it more difficult to spot your banner.

  • The AdManager tries to spread impressions evenly over the day, but sometimes all impressions for that day have been served before the end of the day,  and the banner will not be shown anymore until the next day.
  • The AdManager tries to spread impressions evenly over different visitors with different IP-addresses.  If a certain banner has been shown to a specific IP address it might limit delivery of that same banner to that IP address for the day.
  • Campaigns that are targeted to a specific country (Like:  show only to visitors in Ghana) will not be shown if the AdManager can not verify the visitor is from Ghana. This can happen when the visitor is using a VPN.

If you have access to Google Analytics data on your website,  you should find GhanaWeb in the website’s referral traffic, showing that the campaign is active and delivering.

Questions about performance

What can I do to increase the visibility

There are multiple ways to increase visibility.  Either one of the following solutions will make it easier to spot the banners while browsing, and combining these solutions will increase the effect.

  • You can limit banners to show only in a specific country: This is done by default.
  • You can limit banners to show only on a specific section.  E.g. banners shown on the Entertainment section only, will be 8x more visible, as Entertainment accounts for about 1/8th of total pageviews.
  • You can limit the duration of the campaign.  Having the impressions showing in 2 weeks instead of 1 month, will double the visibility.
  • You can, off course, increase the budget / number of impressions.

How do I create my own Salient App account?

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Do I need to link my bank account in order to use it?

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Will Salient Service work on my mobile device?

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Is it available in my country?

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Questions about payment

Why do I have to pay more when I want to advertise internationally?

The international advertising is mainly executed through programmatic advertising systems. In the programmatic advertising ecosystem, any bidder on advertisements will have to compete with international and other national advertisers with as a consequence much higher advertisement rates. Also CPM prices for markets like the USA are very high compared to the Ghana market.